Visit Armenia

How can we help you?

Museums

State Museum of Armenian History

The museum was founded by the law accepted by the Parliament of the first republic of Armenia. It was called National anthropological museum-library. On August 20th, 1921 it was opened for the visitors. It was formed on the basis of collections of Caucasian Armenian Ethnographic company, museums of Armenian antiquities of Nor Nakhchevan, Antiquity Depository of Ani, Vagharshapat Matenadaran.
The national collection consisted of about 400.000 items is kept in the State Museum of Armenian History, completing the culture and history of Armenia coming from pre-historic times.

Yerevan history Museum

The Yerevan History Museum was founded in 1931. In 2005 it settled down in the new building of Yerevan Municipality which is a unified architectural complex (architect Jim Torosyan). More than 94000 samples are preserved in the museum today representing the material and spiritual culture of the capital since the ancient times up today. The museum houses archeological, ethnographic, numismatic collections, collections of paintings, written sources, photographs and so on which tell about the past and the present of the capital and its citizens.

The museum has three scientific-exposition sections in which subjects highlighting the history of Yerevan have been collected, studied and exposed. The museum also has a scientific council.

Matenadaran

Matenadaran was founded by Mesrop Mashtots and Sahak Partev in 405, in royal settlement of Vagharshapat. In 1920 Matenadaran became national. In 1939 Matenadaran was replaced to Yerevan.
The collection of manuscripts of Matenadaran is one of the biggest in the world. The depository contains over 17300 manuscripts, 450 thousand archive documents, 3000 ancient books. Over 14200 manuscripts kept in SRI are in Armenian, the rest ones are in foreign languages – Greek, Latin, Aramaic, Hebrew, Arabic, Persian, Old Slavonic, Ethiopic, Japanese and others. Unique examples of translation are kept here, the origins of which weren’t saved.

"Erebuni" historical-archeological reserve-museum

"Erebuni" historical-archeological reserve-museum was opened on October 21st, 1968 on the occasion of 2750th anniversary of Erebuni-Yerevan fortress-town foundation. This ancient site is a historical-archeological reserve-museum with a surface of 60 hectares. The architect of the building of ''Erebuni'' museum is Shmavon Azatyan, the sculptor - Ara Harutunyan. The reserve-museum has 2 branch museums: an early agricultural settlement of Shengavit situated on the bank of lake Yerevan and a town-fortress of Teyshebaini (Karmir blur), built by Rusa II in the middle of the VII century BC, which is located in the southwest suburb of Yerevan, on the bank of the Hrazdan river. There are 11.295 archeological items in the depositories of the museum, but only 662 ones are exhibited. The museum has science-research, funds preservation, excursion and mass arrangement departments, laboratories of rehabilitation and anthropology. 

Museum-Institute of the Armenian Genocide

The museum is located near the Genocide memorial complex, which rises on the hill of Tsitsernakaberd. It's is two-story building. On the second floor there is a exhibition hall, and on the first floor there is a library, a document repository, a meeting room and a research center dealing with the Armenian Genocide. Irrefutable evidence and horrifying facts you can see at the Museum of the Armenian Genocide, the main purpose of which is to collect, examine, publish, preserve and present to the public the facts of genocide executed by Turks in 1915-1923. The permanent exhibition of the museum includes documents, photographs, personal belongings of the martyrs. The museum provides tours in Armenian, Russian, English, French and German.

Cafesjian museum-foundation

In 2002 the USA Gafechean museum foundation opened in Yerevan “Cafesjian museum-foundation” with the aim of creating a museum of contemporary arts and a cultural center. While founding the GMF, Gerard L.Cafesjian passed his private collection of works of art to the museum designed by David Hotson, the architect from New York. Gerard Cafesjian museum serves as the national center for art creativity and self-expression and tightly cooperate with the art-loving community. The main aim of the museum is to show world art of painting.

Yerevan Modern Art Museum

The Yerevan Museum of Modern Art was founded in 1972 by the efforts of Henrik Igityan, Yerevan Mayor G. Hasratyan and the best Armenian painters. As a specialized museum of modern art this establishment was the first not only in the former Soviet Union, but also in the whole socialist block. The first exhibition of the museum completely consisted of the works of the Armenian artists of the 1960s granted to the museum by them. The main exhibits of the museum are the works of Minas Avetisyan, Ashot Hovhannisyan, Martin Petrosyan, Hakob Hakobyan, Gayane Khachatryan, Vruyr Galstyan, the Elibekyan brothers, Haroutioun Galentz, Rudolph Khachatryan, Ashot Bayandur and other outstanding artists.

In 2007 a new building was allocated to the museum where the works of the artists of middle and younger generation are exhibited. In 2004 a benefactor Grigor Muradyan granted the museum the works of well-known American-Armenian artist and sculptor Emil Kazaz.

Museum of literature and art after Yeghishe Charents

The museum was founded in 1921. Since 1967 it has been named after Yeghishe Charents. The samples of Armenian literature from Sayat Nova up to contemporary period and the manuscripts, letters of art devotees, their personal and scenic things, photos, playbills, phonograms, sculptures, paintings, personal libraries, musical instruments-all these samples are united in the museum.

More than a thousand personal archives and collections are kept in the museum nowadays including more than one million museum samples. The exhibition called “From Sayat Nova to Charents” is exhibited in the museum permanently. In parallel with the permanent exhibition various thematic exhibitions as well as literature and musical parties, lectures, meetings with workers of culture are organized here.

Sergey Parajanov museum

The museum was founded in 1988 after the first exhibition of Parajanov’s works held in People’s art Museum of Armenia. The main part of the collection are Parajanov’s works: drawings, texts for films, dolls, hats, as well as his furnishings and personal items brought from his house in Tbilisi on his own will when he was alive. The letters of the director written to Lily Brik, Tarkovsky, Nikulin and to other workers of culture are kept in the museum. 700 works of art are included in the exhibition. Certain segments of Parajanov's homes in Tbilisi and Kiev were restored in the two halls of reminiscence.

The majority of his works were created in the years of his imprisonment.

The museum organized 56 exhibitions in Cannes, Salonika, Moscow, Rome, London, Los Angeles, Tehran, Beijing, Paris and other places.

Hovhannes Toumanyan Museum

In April, 1953 at Moskovyan 40 in Yerevan by the project of architect Grigor Aghababyan the museum of Hovhannes Toumanyan was opened, where more than 18.000 exhibits are kept carefully. One of the greatest values of the museum - Hovh.Toumanyan's personal exceptional and various library consisted of about 8000 volumes – is kept in a separate hall on the second floor. The copy of Tiflis "Vernatun" impresses greatly. One of the attractive corners of the museum is the panorama of "Lori gorge", the view of which is accompanied by the music from "Anoush" opera.

To reach this museum, situated on the eminence in the center of Yerevan you should surmount 54 stairs - this number symbolize the years of life of the greatest Armenian.

Yeghishe Charents house-museum

In accordance with the decree of the Council of Ministers of Soviet Armenia, in 1964, the house-museum of Yeghishe Charents was founded in Mashtots avenue, 17 (formerly Lenin avenue,45) in Yerevan: in this building the poet lived in 1935-1937. It is the center studying the poet's life, his literature and culture, public and political activity, where the poet’s relics achieved us: personal things, manuscripts, documents, books, photos and other things. The most dedicatory sector of the museum is the reminiscence home where everything is preserved and exhibited as it used to be during his living there.

Aram Khachatryan house-museum

The house-museum was opened in 1984, when the 80th anniversary of the world famous musician was celebrated. The collection includes more than 18.000 valuable items. Various items exhibited in the reminiscence home and in 10 exhibition halls introduce the visitors with the life and creative heritage of Aram Khachatryan. There is a rich record library and a concert hall in the museum, where concerts, musical festivals and exhibitions are often held.

Avetik Isahakyan house-museum

The museum is situated in Zarobyan street, in parallel to Baghramyan avenue. In this house the writer lived the last ten years of his life. The house-museum was opened on October 31, 1963. The exhibition consists of 2 parts - literature and reminiscence. The poet’s study, where the visitor can see the Master’s writing table, his sofa specially made for him are presented in the museum. There are old Armenian publications in the poet's library. A lot of Armenian rare books you can find only in Isahakyan's library. More than 10 thousand values, describing Isahakyan’s life and work are kept in the museum, which are scientifically studied and presented to the public.

Yervand Kochar museum

Yervand Kochar museum was opened in 1984 in the place of Maestro’s workshop. The museum gives full information about the whole creative life of the artist: paintings, graphics, sculptures of "Tiflis", "Paris", "Yerevan" periods, models of monument sculptures, videos. Kochar's prospective works of art, considered to be an achievement of modern art, are kept in "Pompidu" center in Paris and in Yervand Kochar museum. Rare documents telling about Kochar’s relations with the great representatives of avant-garde are also displayed in the museum. Yervand Kochar museum is an important center of studying and spreading of historical avant-garde in the region. The works of Armenian artist were exhibited beside the ones of such famous artists as Picasso, Braque, Arp, Brancusi, Leger, de Chirico and others. Together with them, as well as with Duchamp, Miro, Kandinsky, Moholy-Nagy, Delaunay in 1936 he signed “Dimansionist manifesto”, which was the herald of the newest aesthetic principles of the time.

Komitas museum-institute

Komitas Museum-Institute was founded in 24 July 2014 by the decision of the government of Armenia. It was built in the Komitas Park, replacing the old house of culture. The architect of the project is Artur Meschian. The museum-institute was officially opened on 29 January 2015, The life and work of Komitas, activities related to his musical and religious careers along with his rich heritage of researches in Armenian folkloric music, are permanently exhibited in eight sections of the museum.

Hovhannes Sharambeyan Folk Arts and Crafts Centre

Hovhannes Sharambeyan Folk Arts and Crafts Centre is a unique hearth of national culture. Its mission is preservation and popularization of tangible and intangible cultural heritage.
The Centre was founded in 2011 when H. Sharambeyan Folk Art Museum and the Centre of People’s Art and Crafts were joined up.

The collection (about 10.000 samples) includes works of art processing of wood, stone, metal, articles of ceramics, lace, embroidery, rugs and carpets, paintings by self-educated painters.
Donations by the Armenian Diaspora take a particular place in the Collection.

"Mother Armenia" Military Museum

Military Museum "Mother Armenia" introduces to visitors not only the history of the Second World War, but also the history of the liberation movement of Artsakh. The facade of the building is a copy of one of the Armenian churches, and above the building stands “Mayr Hayastan”/ Mother Armenia monument. The museum presents the life and work of Armenian soldiers, heroes of the sixth division, as well as biographies of Armenian marshals and generals. The gallery presents oil paintings of heroes and generals of the Soviet Union. The exposition of the second floor is dedicated to the Artsakh Liberation War and is about the activities of freedom fighters who took part in hostilities, the heroes of Artsakh, and also presents a diorama of the liberation of Shushi. On the third floor there is a ceremony hall. The tomb of the Unknown Soldier is near the museum, the mall of Russian border guards, the tomb of the Armenian Marshal Bagramyan and other heroes.