Matenadaran was founded by Mesrop Mashtots and Sahak Partev in 405, in royal settlement of Vagharshapat. In 1920 Matenadaran became national. In 1939 Matenadaran was replaced to Yerevan.
The collection of manuscripts of Matenadaran is one of the biggest in the world. The depository contains over 17300 manuscripts, 450 thousand archive documents, 3000 ancient books. Over 14200 manuscripts kept in SRI are in Armenian, the rest ones are in foreign languages – Greek, Latin, Aramaic, Hebrew, Arabic, Persian, Old Slavonic, Ethiopic, Japanese and others. Unique examples of translation are kept here, the origins of which weren’t saved.